Begin typing your search above and press return to search. Press Esc to cancel.

Awards Grants Honors


Philosopher Wins Princess of Asturias Award

Spanish philosopher Emilio Lledó Iñigo has been awarded the 2015 Princess of Asturias Award for Communication and Humanities.  Eight such awards are given annually, in different fields. The Princess of Asturias Award for the Arts went to Francis Ford Coppola and the award for social sciences was given to economist Esther Duflo. The awards include a replica of a Joan..


APA Op-Ed Contest Nominations Due Soon

The American Philosophical Association (APA) holds an annual contest for the best editorial or opinion pieces published by philosophers:

The goal is to honor five standout pieces that successfully blend philosophical argumentation with an op-ed writing style. Winning submissions will call public attention, either directly or indirectly, to the value of philosoph..


2015 Lebowitz Awards to Alvin Goldman & Jennifer Lackey

Phi Beta Kappa, the honor society, announces:

Alvin Goldman and Jennifer Lackey are the 2015 recipients of the Martin R. Lebowitz and Eve Lewellis Lebowitz Prizes for Philosophical Achievement for their topic titled “Social Epistemology.”  The Lebowitz Prizes, offered by Phi Beta Kappa in conjunction with the American Philosophical Association, offer significan..