Block and Phillips Win 2021 Lebowitz Prize

The American Philosophical Association (APA) and the Phi Beta Kappa Society (PBK) have announced that the winners of the 2021 Dr. Martin R. Lebowitz and Eve Lewellis Lebowitz Prize are Ned Block (New York University) and Ian Phillips (Johns Hopkins University).

Ned Block and Ian Phillips

The Lebowitz Prize is awarded annually “to a pair of philosophers who hold contrasting (not necessarily opposing) views of an important philosophical question that is of current interest both to the field and to an educated public audience.” The selected philosophers each recieve $25,000 and present their views and engage in a dialogue at the annual Lebowitz symposium, held during an APA divisional meeting.

Professors Block and Phillips, who both work on questions in the philosophy of mind and related matters, will speak on the topic, “Perception, Consciousness and the Self.” in February 2022 at the APA Central Division meeting in Chicago, IL.

For more information about the prize, including a list of previous winners, see here.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments