Philosophers among New National Humanities Center Fellows

The National Humanities Center (NHC) has announced the appointment of 35 fellows for the academic year 2023–24, including three philosophers.

They (and their projects) are:

  • Adeshina Afolayan (Philosophy, University of Ibadan)
    Philosophy in the Dancehall: Philosophy and Popular Music in Postcolonial Nigeria
    (Founders’ Fellowship)
  • Katherine Davies (Philosophy, The University of Texas at Dallas)
    Care as Custody: A Critical Feminist Phenomenology of the U.S. Foster Care System
    (Philip L. Quinn Fellowship)
  • Elanor Taylor (Philosophy, Johns Hopkins University)
    The Foundations of Social Metaphysics
    (William J. Bouwsma Fellowship)

Fellows typically receive stipends equivalent to half their salaries, with the expectation that their home institutions will provide the other half. You can learn more about the fellowships here and see the full list of new fellows here.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments