Philosophers Elected to the British Academy

Several philosophy professors are among the 2020 class of fellows of the British Academy.

They include UK Fellows:

  • Ursula Coope (Professor of Ancient Philosophy, University of Oxford; Fellow, Keble College, Oxford)
  • Katherine Hawley (Professor of Philosophy, University of St Andrews)

and Corresponding (overseas) Fellows:

  • Elizabeth Anderson (Arthur F Thurnau Professor and John Dewey Distinguished University Professor of Philosophy and Women’s Studies, University of Michigan)
  • Rainer Forst (Professor of Political Theory and Philosophy, Goethe University, Frankfurt/Main)
  • Elliott Sober  (Hans Reichenbach Professor and William F Vilas Research Professor, University of Wisconsin-Madison).

Additionally, two law professors who have worked in philosophy were also among the Corresponding Fellows:

  • Ngaire Naffine (Bonython Professor of Law, University of Adelaide)
  • Frederick Schauer (David & Mary Harrison Distinguished Professor of Law, University of Virginia Law School)

The British Academy is an independent organization of scholars that promotes and funds research in the humanities and social sciences. Fellows are selected for having “attained distinction in any of the branches of study which it is the object of the Academy to promote”.

You can see a list of all the new fellows here.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments