Lauener Foundation Prize Winners Announced

The Lauener Foundation for Analytic Philosophy has announced the winners of its 2018 awards for Outstanding Oeuvre in Analytical Philosophy and Up-and-Coming Philosopher.

Bas C. van Fraassen, McCosh Professor of Philosophy (Emeritus) at Princeton University and Distinguished Professor of Philosophy at San Francisco State University, is the awardee of the Lauener Prize for Outstanding Oeuvre in Analytical Philosophy. You can view that oeuvre here. Professor van Fraassen is well-known for his work in philosophy of science and philosophical logic.

Finnur Dellsén, associate professor of philosophy at Inland Norway University of Applied Sciences (Høgskolen i Innlandet), is the awardee of the Lauener Prize for Up-and-Coming Philosophers. Professor Dellsén areas of research are philosophy of science, epistemology, philosophy of logic, and metaethics, and he was recently a postdoctoral research fellow at University College Dublin, working on a project on disagreement among experts.

The Lauener Prizes are awarded biennially for the aim of “drawing attention to exemplary bodies of philosophical work” and “encouraging the rising generation of philosophers to carry on with their projects in the best analytic traditions.” They include a cash prize (the Foundation did not yet respond to requests for details on the amount). The winners will officially receive their prizes at an awards ceremony on September 5th, 2018, in Bern, Switzerland. The Lauener Foundation was created in 2003 in accordance with the will of Henri Lauener, who was professor emeritus of analytical philosophy at the University of Bern.

Previous winners are listed here.

Bas van Fraassen and Finnur Dellsén

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments