Hamburg’s Lessing Prize Winner Announced

Every four years, the city of Hamburg, Germany awards a prize, named for Gotthold Ephraim Lessing, to honor achievements in German culture. This year’s winner of the Lessing Prize is Juliane Rebentisch, professor of philosophy and art history at Offenbach University of Art and Design (Hochschule für Gestaltung Offenbach am Main).

Professor Rebentisch works in aesthetics and ethics. She is the author of, among other works, The Art of Freedom: On the Dialectics of Democratic Existence and Aesthetics of Installation Art. She received her PhD from Freie Universität Berlin.

Rebentisch is the first woman to receive the award, which includes approximately $12,500, since it was bestowed on Hannah Arendt in 1959.

Source: ArtForum

Notify of

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Marcia Morgan
6 years ago

Wonderful news!!!

A note of correction: the following women have won the Lessing Prize previously since Hannah Arendt in 1959: Regula Venske in 1997, Yoko Tawada in 1993, Agnes Heller and Dorothee Soelle in 1981, and Nino Haratischwili has won as well this year: