Lenhard Wins 2024 Covey Award

Johannes Lenhard (Rhineland-Palatinate Technical University) has been selected as the winner of the 2024 Covey Award by the board of the International Association for Computing and Philosophy (IACAP).

The Covey Award is given on an annual basis to “senior scholars with a substantial record of innovative research in the field of computing and philosophy broadly conceived.”

The IACAP board writes:

How does using a computer change the methodology and epistemology of the sciences? How does computational modeling transform the use of mathematical tools? Lenhard’s research aims at tackling these questions in a way that speaks to philosophers, historians, and scientists alike.

Lenhard is the author of Calculated Surprises. A Philosophy of Computer Simulation (Oxford University Press, 2019), and the forthcoming Cultures of Prediction. How Engineering and Science Evolve with Mathematical Tools (MIT Press, 2024), which he co-authored with the late Ann Johnson (Cornell University, University of South Carolina). You can learn more about his research here.

Lenhard will present the Covey Award Keynote Address at IACAP 2024 conference in Eugene, Oregon this July.

A list of previous winners of the Covey Award is here.


Horizons Sustainable Financial Services
Notify of

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Alex Mussgnug
Alex Mussgnug
1 month ago

Congratulations – well deserved!