APA Announces Fall 2023 Prize Winners

The American Philosophical Association (APA) has announced the winners of 16 prizes.

They are:

2023 APA/PDC Prize for Excellence and Innovation in Philosophy Programs
Recognizes philosophy departments, research centers, institutes, societies, publishers, and other organizations for creating programs that risk undertaking new initiatives in philosophy and do so with excellence and success. Prize: a plaque and one year of electronic access to a bundle of philosophy resources from the Philosophy Documentation Center.
Philosophy Learning and Teaching Organization (PLATO) (Affiliated with the University of Washington)

2023 K. Jon Barwise Prize 
Recognizes significant and sustained contributions to areas relevant to philosophy and computing by an APA member. Prize: a plaque, keynote talk at a computing and philosophy conference, symposium at one of the divisional APA meetings.
Gabriele Gramelsberger (RWTH Aachen University)

2023 Book Prize
Awarded in odd years for the best published book that was written by a younger scholar during the previous two years. Prize: $4000.
Winner: Una Stojnić (Princeton University) for Context and Coherence: The Logic and Grammar of Prominence (Oxford University Press, 2021)
Honorable Mention: Hallie Liberto (University of Maryland, College Park) for Green Light Ethics: A Theory of Permissive Consent and its Moral Metaphysics (Oxford University Press, 2022)
Honorable Mention: Olúfẹ́mi Táíwò (Georgetown University) for Reconsidering Reparations (Oxford University Press, 2021)

2024 John Dewey Lectures
Three annual lectures, one at each divisional meeting of the APA (Eastern, Central, and Pacific), given by a prominent and senior (typically retired) philosopher associated with that Division, who is invited to reflect broadly and in an autobiographical spirit on philosophy in America as seen from the perspective of a personal intellectual journey. Prize: lecture, $1000.
Eastern: Ernest Sosa (Rutgers University)
Central: Stephen Darwall (Yale University)
Pacific: Michael Bratman (Stanford University)

2023 Essay Prize in Latin American Thought 
Awarded to the author of the best unpublished, English-language, philosophical essay in Latin American thought. Prize: $500.
Emmanuel Carrillo (University of Memphis), “Rethinking Extractivist Epistemologies: Mexican philosophy and philosophy ‘al otro lado’”

2023 Joseph B. Gittler Award
Given for an outstanding scholarly contribution in the field of the philosophy of one or more of the social sciences. Prize: $4000.
David Livingstone Smith (University of New England)

2024 William James Prize 
For the best paper in the area of American philosophy that is both (a) written by a philosopher who received their PhD within five years of the beginning of the calendar year in which the paper is submitted, or is a graduate student, and (b) accepted for inclusion in the Eastern Division program by the program committee through the normal process of anonymous-reviewing. Prize: $300.
Laura Soter (Duke University), “Rethinking Doxastic (In)Voluntarism”

2023 Alvin Plantinga Prize
Recognizes original essays that engage philosophical issues about or in substantial ways related to theism. Prize: $10,000. Honorable mentions: $5000 each.
Winner: Blake Hereth (University of Pennsylvania), “Self-Defense for Theists” (Journal of Analytic Theology, 2022)
Honorable Mention: Lara Buchak (Princeton University), “Faith and Rational Deference to Authority” (Philosophy and Phenomenological Research, forthcoming)
Honorable Mention: Eleanor Gordon-Smith (Princeton University), “Not Enough Evidence, God! Why Deliberation Rules out Evidentialism about Reasons for Belief”

2023 Public Philosophy Op-Ed Contest
For the best opinion-editorials published by philosophers. Prize: $100.
Chris Bousquet (Syracuse University), “How Work Alienates Us from Our Social Lives” (APA Blog, 2022)
Hannah Kim (University of Arizona), “Fitting Vaccine Conspiracies into a Philosophy of Fiction” (Los Angeles Times, 2022)
Céline Leboeuf (Florida International University), “Body Positivity Is Fixated on Beauty – Here’s How to Fix That” (Psyche Magazine, 2022)
Kate Manne (Cornell University), “Diet Culture Is Unhealthy. It’s also Immoral” (New York Times, 2022)

2023 Philip L. Quinn Prize
In recognition of service to philosophy and philosophers, broadly construed. Prize: Plaque, $2500.
Howard McGary (Rutgers University)

2023 Routledge, Taylor & Francis Prize
For the two best published articles in philosophy written by adjunct professors. Prize: $1000 each.
James Kinkaid (Bilkent University), “Phenomenology, Anti-realism, and the Knowability Paradox”

2024 Sanders Graduate Student Awards
three prizes awarded to each of the three best papers in mind, metaphysics, epistemology, or ethics submitted for the annual APA Eastern Division meeting by graduate students. Prize: $1000 each, plus travel funds from the APA.
Rhys Borchert (University of Arizona), “Discrimination in Action”
Brian Haas (University of Southern California), “Artifacts: Ontology as Easy as it Gets”
Taylor Koles (University of Pittsburgh), “Aggregation, Contractualism, and the Procedural Separateness of Persons”

2024 Sanders Lecture
Presented annually at a divisional meeting of the APA on a topic in philosophy of mind, metaphysics, or epistemology that engages the analytic tradition. Prize: $3500 plus travel expenses.
Stephen Yablo (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

2023 Israel Scheffler Prize in Philosophy of Education
Awarded every third year for either a book published within the previous five years or a connected set of three or more papers, the most recent of which was published no more than five years previous, on a topic in philosophy of education, broadly construed. Prize: $1000 total.
Lawrence Blum (University of Massachusetts Boston) and Zoë Burkholder (Montclair State University)

2023 Frank Chapman Sharp Memorial Prize
Awarded to the best unpublished essay or monograph on the philosophy of war and peace submitted for the competition. Prize: $1500.
Linda Eggert (University of Oxford) for “Duties to Rescue and Permissions to Harm”

2023 Prize for Excellence in Philosophy Teaching
Recognizes a philosophy teacher who has had a profound impact on the student learning of philosophy in undergraduate and/or pre-college settings. Prize: Plaque, $1000.
Kristopher Phillips (Eastern Michigan University) and Rebecca Scott (Harper College)



Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments