Dotson and Siegel Win 2023 Lebowitz Prize

The 2023 Dr. Martin R. Lebowitz and Eve Lewellis Lebowitz Prize for Philosophical Achievement and Contribution has been awarded to Kristie Dotson (University of Michigan) and Susanna Siegel (Harvard University).

Kristie Dotson and Susanna Siegel

The prize, which is awarded by the Phi Beta Kappa Society (ΦBK) in conjunction with the American Philosophical Association (APA), “is presented to a pair of philosophers who hold contrasting (not necessarily opposing) views of an important philosophical question that is of current interest both to the field and to an educated public audience. The associated Lebowitz symposium is presented annually at an APA divisional meeting. To promote the discipline of philosophy to wider audiences, ΦBK also sponsors a public presentation featuring the prize winners”, according to the APA. The prize also includes a $25,000 honorarium for each winner.

The topic Professors Dotson and Siegel; will be taking up in their lecture is “Norms of Attention”. They’ll give their lectures at the February 2024 Central Division Meeting of the APA in New Orleans.*

A list of previous winners of the Lebowitz Prize is here.

(via Erin Shepherd)

* Note: the original version of this post originally stated that the Lebowitz lectures will be taking place at the Eastern APA, based on information provided from the APA. The APA has now informed me that the lectures will be taking place at the Central APA.

Thinker Analytix: innovative tools for teaching clear and courageous thinking
Notify of

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Ainsley May
1 year ago

I wish the announcement included what their contrasting approaches are so I could find out a little about their work. But congrats to both.