R. Lanier Anderson Elected APA Board Chair

The Board of Officers of the American Philosophical Association (APA), at its Fall 2022 meeting, elected R. Lanier Anderson (Stanford) as its next Chair.

R. Lanier Anderson

The term of current Board Chair Dominic McIver Lopes, concludes at the end of this June, at which point Dr. Anderson will take up the position.

Dr. Anderson, the APA notes in a press release,

was member-at-large of the APA board of officers from 2018 to 2021; he has also served on the APA finance committee, the Pacific Division nominating committee, and the Pacific Division program committee. Anderson was executive director of the North American Nietzsche Society (NANS) from 2015 to 2021, and chair of the NANS program committee from 2004 to 2021; a member of the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) and Fulbright Program screening committees; and Senior Association Dean for the Humanities and Arts at Stanford University. He is a member of the American Society of Aesthetics and the North American Kant Society, as well as a member of the editorial boards of the European Journal of Philosophy, Journal of Nietzsche Studies, Nietzsche-Studien, and Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy.

Dr. Anderson says:

I am honored by this opportunity to serve the APA, an organization which has done so much for my own career through its work to support philosophers and advance the place of philosophy in the culture. I deeply appreciate the leadership of Dom Lopes, Amy Ferrer, and the board in guiding our association through the pandemic, and I will do my best to live up to their example. The challenges of the coming years will be significant, and we can meet them only together, devoting the APA’s resources to address the needs of all philosophers, across the whole diverse range of our discipline today.

You can learn more about the APA’s Board of Officers here.

(via Erin Shepherd)

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments