Philosophers Among New Class of AAAS Fellows

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAs) has announced its 2020 class of fellows. Most of the 489 new fellows are scientists, but three are philosophers.

Newly elected AAAS Fellows will receive rosette pins in gold and blue, colors symbolizing science and engineering. (AAAS)

They are:

  • Colin Allen (University of Pittsburgh): For his significant contributions to philosophy of science, philosophy of biology, philosophy of cognitive science, and in logic, computation and artificial intelligence.
  • Rachel Ankeny (University of Adelaide): For her contributions to our understanding of the foundational roles that organisms play in biological research and her leadership in history and philosophy of science.
  • Nita A. Farahany (Duke University): For distinguished contributions to the field of neuroethics, enabling responsible and equitable development and implementation of new knowledge and technologies in neuroscience.

AAAS Fellows are selected in recognition of their “important contributions to STEM disciplines, including pioneering research, leadership within a given field, teaching and mentoring, fostering collaborations, and advancing public understanding of science.”

You can view the whole list of new fellows here.

(via Wayne Myrvold)

The Hedgehog Review
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments