Philosophers Win ERC Advanced Grants

The European Research Council (ERC) recently announced the winners of their “Advanced Grants” for well-established researchers. Two philosophers were among the winners.

They are:

Jan Opsomer, Catholic University of Leuven, for Not another history of Platonism: The role of Aristotle’s criticisms of Plato in the development of ancient Platonism. €2,335,911 (approximately $2,520,000)


Graziano Ranocchia, Italian National Research Council, for The Greek philosophical schools according to Europe’s earliest ‘history of philosophy’: Towards a new pioneering critical edition of Philodemus’ Arrangement of the Philosophers. €2,498,356 (approximately $2,705,000).

Jan Opsomer and Graziano Ranocchia

The ERC awarded a total of 450 million euros to 185 different researchers. You can learn more about the grants and see the list of other winners here.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments