Sandra Dwyer & Claire Katz Recognized for Excellence in Teaching

Sandra Dwyer, principal senior lecturer in the Department of Philosophy at Georgia State University, and Claire Katz, Associate Dean of Faculties, the Murray and Celeste Fasken Chair in Distinguished Teaching in the Liberal Arts, and a Professor of Philosophy at Texas A&M University, are the winners of the 2019 Prize for Excellence in Philosophy Teaching.

The Prize for Excellence in Philosophy Teaching is sponsored by the American Philosophical Association (APA), the American Association of Philosophy Teachers (AAPT), and the Teaching Philosophy Association (which puts out the journal Teaching Philosophy). The prize was created in 2017 to recognize members of the APA who have had “a profound impact on the student learning of philosophy in undergraduate and/or pre-college settings.”

Sandra Dwyer and Claire Katz

The prize is $1,000 and a plaque.

The APA’s announcement of the prize is here. Unfortunately, it does not (yet) include quotes from or links to the nomination letters for Professors Dwyer and Katz; I will update this post if they become available. Previous winners of the prize are listed here.

Use innovative tools to teach clear and courageous thinking
Notify of

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Josh Bisig
Josh Bisig
4 years ago

Congratulations to both! I had the pleasure of working with Sandy as a grad student at Georgia State. She’s an incommensurable guide and instructor! This recognition is well-deserved!

Tim O'Keefe
4 years ago

Sandy Dwyer has been the coordinator of graduate teaching ay Georgia State for 15 years, and she’s done an outstanding job of helping our MA students teach their own classes, from leading the pedagogy class that all of the students take in their first semester to giving them support and feedback when they’re in the classroom. She also deals with the inevitable crisis situations that spring up with grace and good humor. But just as importantly, she sees herself as a mentor of the graduate students and an advocate for their interests within the department. She’s retiring after this year, and everybody here will miss her.