Edwards Wins APA’s 2019 Sanders Book Prize for The Metaphysics of Truth

Douglas Edwards, assistant professor of philosophy at Utica College, has won the 2019 Sanders Book Prize from the American Philosophical Association (APA) for his book, The Metaphysics of Truth.  

The Sanders Book Prize is awarded annually to “the best book in philosophy of mind, metaphysics, or epistemology that engages the analytic tradition published in English in the previous five-year period.” It is funded by the Marc Sanders Foundation. The prize is $7,000.

Douglas Edwards

In the award announcement, the APA states:

Edwards develops his own version of truth pluralism, making contributions along the way to discussions of differences in the role of predicates and the connection with ontological pluralism. The book is philosophically nuanced, rigorous and systematic in its treatment. It also stood out as interesting to a broad range of philosophical topics and discussions.

Honorable mentions for the prize went to Carrie Figdor, professor of philosophy at the University of Iowa, for her Pieces of Mind, and Susanna Schellenberg, professor of philosophy and cognitive science at Rutgers University, for her The Unity of Perception.

You can see a list of previous winners here.

Beyond the Ivory Tower. Workshop for academics on writing short pieces for wide audiences on big questions. Taking place October 18th to 19th. Application deadline July 30th. Funding provided.
Notify of

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Christopher A. Riddle
4 years ago

Congrats to a wonderful and deserving colleague!