£100,000 Leverhulme Prizes to Three Philosophers

The Leverhulme Trust, a significant funder of research and education in the UK, has announced the winners of its 2017 Leverhulme Prizes. Three philosophers were recognized in the “Philosophy and Theology” category.

They are:

  • John Michael (University of Warwick), who works on topics in cognitive science, particularly social cognition
  • Ian Phillips (University of Birmingham), who works in philosophy of mind and cognitive science, with a focus on perception and temporal experience
  • Bryan W. Roberts (London School of Economics and Political Science), who works in philosophy of physics, especially time and the observable

Each of the winners receives £100,000 (approximately $130,000), which can be used over two or three years to support their research activities.

From the Trust’s website:

Philip Leverhulme Prizes have been awarded annually since 2001 in commemoration of the contribution to the work of the Trust made by Philip Leverhulme, the Third Viscount Leverhulme and grandson of William Hesketh Lever, the founder of the Trust. The prizes recognise the achievement of outstanding researchers whose work has already attracted international recognition and whose future career is exceptionally promising.

The subjects the Trust offers prizes in change each year. See this page for further details.

The Hedgehog Review
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments