Cartwright and Sober Win 2017 Lebowitz Prize

Nancy Cartwright, professor of philosophy at UC San Diego and the University of Durham, and Elliott Sober, Hans Reichenbach and William F. Vilas Research Professor of Philosophy at University of Wisconsin–Madison, are the winners of the 2017 Dr. Martin R. Lebowitz and Eve Lewellis Lebowitz Prize for Philosophical Achievement and Contribution.

The prize is awarded by the Phi Beta Kappa Society (PBK) in conjunction with the American Philosophical Association (APA). The prize is unusual in that its winners “must be two philosophers who hold contrasting views on a chosen topic of current interest in philosophy,” according to the APA. The two philosophers will present their views in a public lecture and at an annual Lebowitz symposium held at one of the APA divisional meetings.

Sober and  Cartwright are known for their work in the philosophy of science. The subject of their Lebowitz lectures and symposium will be, “Is there such a thing as the scientific method?” More information is available here. Previous awardees are listed at the bottom of this page.

Elliott Sober and Nancy Cartwright

Notify of

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Alan White
Alan White
7 years ago

This is a wonderful choice–they both have had quite an impact on how I think about Phi/Sci issues. Congratulations to them!