Australasian Association of Philosophy Awards

The Australasian Association of Philosophy (AAP) has announced the winners of several of its 2016 awards. The list of prizes and winners is below. But first, notice that the AAP issues an award to non-philosophers: its Media Professionals’ Award

The award, which includes a $500 prize, is “open to media professionals including journalists, presenters, producers, editors and others” based in Australasia. Winners are chosen on the following criteria:

  1. The primary criterion is the ability of the activity, episode or piece to engage the interest of the general public in philosophy or some philosophical issue.
  2. In addition, the philosophy should be of acceptable quality, sufficient to justify the implicit AAP endorsement of quality conveyed by the prize.
  3. Consideration should also be given to the size of the audience reached.

I think this is an excellent idea.

This year’s winners of the Media Professionals’ Award are Scott Stephens and Waleed Aly for their radio show, “The Minefield.” More details about the award are here.

Other awards announced by the AAP include:

The AAP’s Postgraduate Presentation Prize does not appear to have been awarded yet, but you can see its shortlist here.

UPDATE (7/8/16): Courtesy of our commenters, we learn that the Postgraduate Presentation Prize was awarded to Stephen Gadsby (Macquarie University) for his “Anorexia Nervosa and the Oversized Experience.”

Australasian Association Philosophy Logo

Notify of

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Neil Levy
Neil Levy
7 years ago

Stephen Gadsby (Macquarie University) was the winner of the Postgraduate Presentation Priz.

Sara L. Uckelman
7 years ago

The PG prize was awarded last night, to Stephen Gadsby, ‘Anorexia Nervosa and the Oversized Experience’.