APA Book Prize Results Announced

The winner of the 2015 American Philosophical Association’s Book Prize is Manuel Vargas (University of San Francisco) for his Building Better Beings: A Theory of Moral Responsibility (Oxford University Press).

Honorable mentions went to Adrienne Martin (Claremont McKenna) for her How We Hope: A Moral Psychology (Princeton University Press) and Michael Titelbaum for his Quitting Certainties: A Bayesian Framework Modeling Degrees of Belief (Oxford University Press).

The prize is awarded every other year and includes $4000. More details about the prize are here.

The Hedgehog Review
Notify of

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Alan White
Alan White
8 years ago

Excepting (in my estimation) one other comparably brilliant book–Neil Levy’s excellent Hard Luck–no other in our era of specialization so audaciously attempts to weave such diverse questions of metaphysics, action theory, X-Phi, philosophy of language/reference, pragmatism, social philosophy, justice, and punishment together as Vargas’ book does, and all in fabricating a lovely tapestry of his coherent and novel position about free will–revisionism. Large-scale and visionary philosophy as Vargas’ book represents is on the endangered list–and I’m delighted that the APA has recognized this work as example of a profound revival of such bold tradition. If I may, I offer my own review of it from last year:


So congratulations to Vargas, and also to the very distinguished honorable mentions.