Recent APA Prize Winners Announced

The American Philosophical Association (APA) has announced the winners of several competitions. First up are the winners of the 2013 Public Philosophy Op-Ed Contest, which were awarded at the 2014 Eastern APA meeting:

Dale Jamieson (NYU)
“The Right’s New Climate Change Lie”

Todd May (Clemson)
“The Weight of the Past”
The Stone

Jennifer Morton (City College)
“Unequal Classrooms: What Online Education Cannot Teach”
The Chronicle of Higher Education

Kathryn Pogin (Northwestern)
“Notre Dame Healthcare and ‘Sincere Religious Belief’”
The Huffington Post

George Yancy (Duquesne)
“Walking while Black in the White Gaze”
The Stone

Next up: The 2015 Jean Hampton Prize, which is awarded to a paper accepted to the Pacific APA meeting, “in some area of philosophy in which Professor Jean Hampton worked, including social and political philosophy, foundations of ethics, normative ethics, the philosophy of law, rational choice theory, feminist theory, Hobbes to Hume, Kant, realism, and pragmatism.” The prize went to Victor Kumar (Michigan) for his “The Empirical Vindication of Moral Luck.” He’ll present the paper and receive the award next week at the Pacific APA.

Additionally, Christopher Mole (UBC), is the winner of the 2015-16 Edinburgh Fellowship, a visiting fellowship at the Institute for Advanced Studies in the Humanities at the University of Edinburgh.

Congratulations to the winners!

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments