APA Publication Awards – Updated

The American Philosophical Association has announced the winners of some recent publication prizes. Sally Haslanger has won the 2014 Joseph B. Gittler Award for her Resisting Reality: Social Construction and Social Critique.

The APA Book Prize is awarded every other year and for 2013 the winner is Global Justice and Territory by Cara Nine as the winner. Honorable mentions went to Globalization and Global Justice: Shrinking Distance, Expanding Obligations by Nicole Hassoun and Minimizing Marriage: Marriage, Morality, and the Law by Elizabeth Brake.

UPDATE: Amy Ferrer writes to inform me that I should keep my day job. Not in so many words, of course, but she did point out (a) that the Book Prize announcement is kind of old news, and (b) I missed a bunch of other APA awards news, including:

2014 Article Prize
– Andrew Bacon (University of Southern California), “Quantificational Logic and Empty Names,” Philosophers’ Imprint 13(24), 2013: 1-21
Honorable Mentions:
– Sarah Moss, “Epistemology Formalized,” Philosophical Review, vol. 122, no. 1, 2013, 1-43
– Ryan Preston-Roedder, “Faith in Humanity,” Philosophy and Phenomenological Research 87 (3), 2013, pp. 664-687

2015 Frank Chapman Sharp Memorial Prize
Larry May (Vanderbilt University), “Humanity, Necessity, and the Rights of Soldiers.” May will receive the award at the 2014 Eastern Division meeting.

2014-2015 Sanders Lecturer: William Lycan (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill). Lycan will present his lecture at the 2014 Eastern Division meeting.

2015-2016 Romanell Lecturer: Elisabeth Lloyd (Indiana University). Lloyd will present her lecture at the 2016 Pacific Division meeting.

More details about these awards are here.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments