Five Philosophers Elected to Membership of AAAS

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences has elected its 2014 class and it includes five philosophers: John Broome (Oxford), Arthur Fine (University of Washington), Ruth Millikan (University of Connecticut), David Velleman (NYU), and Gary Watson (Southern California). The full list of new members is here. “As one of the nation’s oldest learned societies and independent policy research centers, the Academy convenes leaders from the academic, business, and government sectors to address critical challenges facing our global society.” Membership is considered an honor and is by nomination of existing members of the fellowship. There are about 5200 fellows.

UPDATE: Make it six! I missed David Luban (Georgetown), a legal scholar and philosopher, who was listed under law.

Beyond the Ivory Tower. Workshop for academics on writing short pieces for wide audiences on big questions. Taking place October 18th to 19th. Application deadline July 30th. Funding provided.
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments