Philosophers Among New Class of Guggenheim Fellows

Several scholars with appointments in philosophy are among the winners of this years Guggenheim Fellowships.

They are:

  • Sarah BussProfessor of Philosophy, University of Michigan: How to Be Coherent and How Coherent to Be.
  • David DyzenhausUniversity Professor of Law and Philosophy, University of Toronto: The Politics of Legal Space.
  • Robert Gooding-WilliamsM. Moran Weston/Black Alumni Council Professor of African-American Studies, Professor of Philosophy and of African American and African Diaspora Studies, Columbia University: Du Bois’s Political Aesthetics: The Moral Psychology of White Supremacy and the Ends of Beauty.
  • Alison GopnikProfessor of Psychology and Affiliate Professor of Philosophy, Department of Psychology, University of California, Berkeley: First Explore, Then Exploit: Formulating a Cognitive, Computational, and Evolutionary Theory of Childhood.
  • Susanna SchellenbergProfessor of Philosophy and Cognitive Science, Rutgers University: The Neural Basis of Perception: Discrimination, Information-Processing, and Biases.

Others among the 175 winners who have worked in philosophy or closely-related fields include:

  • Sabine IatridouProfessor of Linguistics, Department of Linguistics and Philosophy, Massachusetts Institute of Technology: Quexistentials and Their Significance for Linguistic Theory.
  • Melissa SchwartzbergJulius Silver, Roslyn S. Silver, and Enid Silver Winslow Professor of Politics, New York University: Judging Democracy: Jurors, Voters, and the Construction of Equal Citizens.
  • Vera KellerAssociate Professor of History, University of Oregon: Curating the German Enlightenment: Johann Daniel Major (1634-1693) and the Experimental Century.
  • David SepkoskiThomas M. Siebel Chair in History of Science and Professor, Department of History, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign: The Politics of Human Nature: Biological Determinism from Sociobiology to the Human Genome.

There were nearly 3,000 applicants for the fellowships. Award amounts vary, and are intended to provide 6-12 months of support. You can see the whole list of current winners here.


There is one comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please enter an e-mail address